• Women's History Month

Board Observance

  • Women's History Month
    "Celebrating Women Who Tell Stories"
    Ceremony and Presentation

    Thursday, March 23, 2022 | 4:30 p.m.

    Mistress of Ceremonies
    Commissioner Amy Maloy

    Welcome and Greetings
    President Cynthia Elliott, Board of Education

    Dr. Carmine Peluso, Superintendent of Schools

    Tamara Sheppard, Social Worker
    "I Am Woman by Helen Reddy"

    Keynote Speaker
    Aisha Pierre, Curator of Interpretation
    National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House

    Recognition of High Scholars

    Closing Remarks
    Vice President Beatriz LeBron, Board of Education


  • DID YOU KNOW:  The National Women’s History Alliance, which spearheaded the movement for March being declared National Women’s History Month, has announced the women’s history theme for 2023, “Celebrating Women Who Tell Our Stories.” | Learn more at nationalwomenshistoryalliance.org

2022-23 High Scholars

  • Each year, the Rochester City School District Board of Education recognizes women academic high scholars in our high schools that have an average GPA of 4.0 or better. Congratulations to our scholars on their incredible commitment to their education and academic success. A special thanks to all parents, family members, mentors, teachers, and other school staff who support our students each day.

    The 2022-23 scholars receiving the Susan B. Anthony Award are as follows:  

    Johelys Alicea
    East Upper School
    Principal Marlene Blocker

    Brineeya McGrady
    Edison Career & Technology High School
    Principal Jacob Scott

    Shamoria Prince
    Franklin Upper School
    Principal Rick Smith 

    Josmary Alvarado
    James Monroe Upper School
    Principal Jason Muhammad 

    Toni Kendrick
    Northeast College High School
    Principal Nakia Burrows

    Madina Rahim
    Rochester International Academy
    Principal Mary Andrecolich-Montesano

    Macca Abdi
    Rochester Early College International High School
    Principal Uma Mehta 

    Aimei Hall
    School of the Arts
    Principal Kelly Nicastro

    Jorlani Bullock
    School Without Walls
    Principal Coretta Wright

    Clementine Kashindi
    Joseph C. Wilson Commencement High School
    Principal Gary Reynolds

    Shamso Abdi
    World of Inquiry School No. 58
    Principal Kwame Donko-Hanson