Return to Headlines

Fourteen Outstanding Seniors Recognized During Michael C. O’Laughlin Recognition Dinner

(May 19, 2022) The Rochester City School District would like to congratulate 14 of its students for being recognized as outstanding seniors at this year’s Michael C. O’Laughlin Recognition Dinner. 

After having gone virtual because of the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s recognition dinner returned as an in-person event at Shadow Lake Racquet and Golf Cub in Penfield on Wednesday, May 18.

Students are selected for this recognition based on academics, leadership, and service.  The following students from the RCSD were honored at the awards dinner:

  • Xavier Whitehead, All City High
  • Mshingelwa Mfaume, East Upper School
  • Shawnique Hagan, Edison Career and Technology High School
  • Shedreeck Knight, Franklin Upper School
  • Mya Dickerson, James Monroe Upper School
  • Evan Walls, Joseph C. Wilson Magnet High School Commencement Academy
  • Julian Hill, Leadership Academy for Young Men
  • Paul Mateo, Northeast College Preparatory High School
  • Bryan Navarro, P-Tech
  • Anab Abdi, Rochester Early College International High School
  • Mahfoodh Alshoaibi, Rochester International Academy
  • Adam Hawk, School of the Arts
  • Deondre Wilson, School Without Walls
  • Aaniyah Simmons, World of Inquiry School No. 58

Dr. Michael C. O’Laughlin dedicated his entire 37-year career to students. He began his career in education with the Brockport Central School District where he served as a teacher and department chair. He moved on the Kendall Central School District where he held the positions of High School Principal, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction, and ultimately became Superintendent of Schools. In 2007, Dr. O’Laughlin became the District Superintendent of the Monroe 2 – Orleans BOCES. Dr. O’Laughlin passed away in May 2009. In 2012, the Monroe County Council of School Superintendents recognized Dr. O’Laughlin posthumously by renaming this event in his honor.