• Welcome to Engage Rochester's Common Core Site.  

    As Common Core priorities continue to emerge, Engage Rochester and the Common Core site will incorporate these developments so that you always have the most up to date information to support student learning. 

    We are committed to providing appropriate and timely information to those who need it, when they need it!
    What is Common Core?
    In January 2011, the New York State Board of Regents adopted the New York State P-12 Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS), which include the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) and a small amount of additional standards uniquely added by New York State.  The New York State P-12 CCLS were implemented in New York State schools at the beginning of the 2012-2013 school year.
    What are the Common Core State Standards?
    The Common Core State Standards shwo what students in Pre-K through 12th grade should know and be able to do in English Language Arts and Mathematics.  The standards will help all students across the state learn the same skills.  This will make sure that they are ready for college and careers.  The standards in clude changes, or "shifts," in how teachers teach to help children succeed in the topics and skills that matter most.  The standards are desinged to help all young people get prepared for college and careers. 
    Common Core Instructional Shifts

    In the summer of 2011, the New York State Education Department and Student Achievement Partners developed 12 instructional shifts from the Common Core that educators should adhere to so that curriculum materials and classroom instruction are aligned with the CCLS. 

    There are six shifts in each English Language Arts/Literacy and Mathematics:

    ELA shifts

    Math Shifts