• The following is an overview of the NYS Common Core ELA and Math standards that guide instruction at Henry Hudson. For more information on NYS standards for music, art, physical education, and library science please visit the NYS Education Department's website. 


    Standards for English Language Arts

    The Common Core Learning Standards for English Language Arts and Literacy define general, cross-disciplinary literacy expectations that must be met for students (Standards) and characteristics of CCLS instruction.  The ELA Standards are organized into four overlapping strands: Reading, Writing, Language and Speaking/Listening.  Because the CCLS present an integrated model of literacy, the Standards mutually inform one another.  You can read more at Engage NY.

    English/Language Arts Instructional Shifts in the New York State Common Core Curriculum

    Shift 1: Balancing Informational & Literary Text

    Students read a true balance of informational and literary texts

    Shift 2: Knowledge in the Disciplines

    Students build knowledge about the world (domains/content areas) through TEXT rather than the teacher or activities

    Shift 3: Staircase of Complexity

    Students read the central grade appropriate text around which instruction is centered. Teachers are patient, create more time and space and support in the curriculum for close reading.

    Shift 4: Text-based Answers

    Students engage in rich and rigorous evidence based conversations about text.

    Shift 5: Writing from Sources

    Writing emphasizes use of evidence from sources to inform or make an argument.

    Shift 6: Academic Vocabulary

    Students constantly build the transferable vocabulary they need to access grade level complex texts. This can be done effectively by spiraling like content in increasingly complex texts.


    Standards for Mathematics

    The main design principles in the New York State Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS) for Mathematics standards are focus, coherence, and rigor. These principles require that, at each grade level, students and teachers focus their time and energy on fewer topics, in order to form deeper understandings, gain greater skill and fluency, and more robustly apply what is learned. Focus in the curriculum is meant to give students an opportunity to understand concepts and practice with them in order to reach a deep and fluent understanding. Coherence in the curriculum means progressions that span grade levels to build students’ understanding of ever more sophisticated mathematical concepts and applications. Rigor means a combination of fluency exercises, chains of reasoning, abstract activities, and contextual activities throughout the module. You can read more at Engage NY.


    Mathematics Instructional Shifts in the New York State Common Core Curriculum

    Shift 1: Focus

    Teachers significantly narrow and deepen the scope of how time and energy is spent in the math classroom. They do so in order to focus deeply on only the concepts that are prioritized in the standards.

    Shift 2: Coherence

    Principals and teachers carefully connect the learning within and across grades so that students can build new understanding onto foundations built in previous years.

    Shift 3: Fluency

    Students are expected to have speed and accuracy with simple calculations; teachers structure class time and/or homework time for students to memorize, through repetition, core functions.

    Shift 4: Deep Understanding

    Students deeply understand and can operate easily within a math concept before moving on. They learn more than the trick to get the answer right. They learn the math.

    Shift 5:  Application

    Students are expected to use math and choose the appropriate concept for application even when they are not prompted to do so.

    Shift 6: Dual Intensity

    Students are practicing and understanding. There is more than a balance between these two things in the classroom – both are occurring with intensity.