ROCHESTER BOARD OF EDUCATION Public Hearing Proposed Budget for 2011/12 April 12, 2011

Minutes

Attendance: President Evans, Vice President Cruz and Commissioners Powell, Williams and White. Deputy Superintendent John Scanlan and Board Clerk Shanai Lee.

President Evans convened the public hearing to gather citizens' input on the Superintendent's proposed budget for fiscal year 2011/12 of the Rochester City School District at 6:00 p.m.

Commissioner Powell arrived at 6:11 p.m.

Commissioner White arrived at 6:35 p.m.

President Evans welcomed the audience and asked that speakers come to the podium to address the Board.

The following students spoke in opposition to the staffing and programming allocations presented in the Superintendent's proposed 2011/12 budget: Emmett Tross, Zakena Dixon, Haadiyah Flagg, Safari Harris, Sarah Gentry, Lyndsey Stewart, Leon Fuller, Delia McDade-Clay, Ariana Parrillo, Chariah Shaw, Janice Agnew, David Markakis, Dyniste Ely, Megan Gilfoy, Daniel Hopkins, Christian Rosado, Piper VanKerkhove, Aideen Foster, Julia Robertson, Jasmine Garner, Alisia Brown, Veronica Mariano, Adriana Facen and Rose Elliott.

The following parents spoke in opposition to the staffing and programming allocations presented in the Superintendent's proposed 2011/12 budget: Ranika Brown, Cheryl Marshall, Ernest Green, Pabitha Flagg, Geoffrey Williams, Barbara VanKerkhove, Eileen Wrona, Sarah Johnstone, Rahimah Wynn, Peg Basile, Phyllis Cashwell, Henry Viau, Mark Schrader, Jennifer Brown, Howard Eagle, Maranne McDade-Clay, Samantha Colson, Cheryl Marshall, Erin Rebholz, Marcella Richer, Anita Jones, Pete LaFond, Jenna Silpe, Elizabeth Hallmark, Kathryn Williams, Ricardo Adams, Lisa Hanlon, Mary Adams, Vida Hernandez, Victoria Robertsonb, Doneal Williams, Kathy Wideman, Alisia Weekly, Dan Bell, Lisa Button, Andrea Smith, Zahyia Rolle-Know, Michael Brown, Kathy Markakis, and Marsha Okung.

The following members of the community spoke in opposition to the staffing and programming allocations presented in the Superintendent's proposed 2011/12 budget: Betty Ervin, Wallace Smith, Nereida Hernandez, Mary Ellen Sanchez, Carly Kostiw,

Christopher Tillman, Elaine Erbland, Tim Adams, Deborah Jones, Rachel Dobbs, Elaine Francesco, Alice Pratt, John Fetter, Brian Erway, Gina Ignatowski and Lori Thomas.

The following members of the District's staff spoke in opposition to the staffing and programming allocations presented in the Superintendent's proposed 2011/12 budget: Margaret Hurley, Jeffrey Mehr, Ellen Best, Dominic Pickard, Gayle Keating, Mary Hayes, Candace Rubin, Lilith Hart, Marybeth Mueller, Mary Robey, Amy Spiess-Ki, Dianna Hamilton, Windsor Wade, Mark Friedman, Curtis Taylor, Alexander Johnson, Sally Bub, Penny Carlson Palmer, Jane Shanes, Mary Miskell, Elizabeth Haman, Marisa DeMario, Joanne Eccles, Paul Conrow, Diane Watkins, Alison Skvarla, Melissa Smally and Alicia Messenger.

President Evans thanked the speakers for their comments and announced the future schedule of budget meetings.

President Evans concluded the hearing at 7:01 p.m.