## **ROCHESTER BOARD OF EDUCATION** Organizational Meeting Minutes January 3, 2017

Attendance: Commissioners Adams, Cruz, Elliott, Evans, Powell, and White; Superintendent Barbara Deane-Williams; District Clerk Shanai Lee.

District Clerk Shanai Lee chaired and convened the meeting at 6:05 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag. Dr. Lee explained the process for considering resolutions specifying employees charged with performing certain functions and the designation of the official newspaper and certain financial arrangements and electing officers for the office of President and Vice President for the 2017 calendar year.

Dr. Lee opened the floor for nominations for the office of President. Commissioner Powell nominated Commissioner White for the office of President. Commissioner White accepted the nomination.

Motion to close nominations made by Commissioner Evans. Seconded by Commissioner Elliott. Motion carries 6-0 with Commissioner Hallmark absent.

Roll Call Vote for Commissioner White for the office of President:

Commissioner Adams	Yes
Commissioner Cruz	Yes
Commissioner Elliott	Yes
Commissioner Evans	Yes
Commissioner Hallmark	Absent
Commissioner Powell	Yes
Commissioner White	Yes

Commissioner White elected to the office of President for the 2017 calendar year with a **vote of 6-0 with** Commissioner Hallmark absent.

President White was sworn into office by Sapphire Williams.

Dr. Lee opened the floor for nominations for the office of Vice President. President White nominated Commissioner Elliott for the office of Vice President. Commissioner Elliott accepted the nomination.

Motion to close nominations made by Commissioner Evans. Seconded by President White. Motion carries 6-0 with Commissioner Hallmark absent.

Roll Call Vote for Commissioner Elliott for the office of Vice President:

Commissioner Adams	Yes
Commissioner Cruz	Yes
Commissioner Elliott	Yes
Commissioner Evans	Yes
Commissioner Hallmark	Absent
Commissioner Powell	Yes
Commissioner White	Yes

## Commissioner Elliott was elected to the office of Vice President for the 2017 calendar year with a vote of 6-0 with Commissioner Hallmark absent.

Vice President Elliott was sworn into office by Pamela Jackson.

President White commended Vice President Elliott for her leadership throughout the 2016 calendar year and expressed gratitude for the Board's unanimous support of his leadership.

President White assumed charge of the meeting.

President White requested a motion to consider Resolution Nos. 2016-17: 430-440.

Motion to adopt **Resolution Nos. 2016-17: 430-440** made by Commissioner Evans. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. **Adopted 6-0 with Commissioner Hallmark absent.** 

President White announced that the next meeting of the Board is scheduled for Thursday, January 12, 2017 at 5:30 p.m.

**Motion to adjourn** by Vice President Elliott. Seconded by Commissioner Evans. Adopted 6-0 with Commissioner Hallmark absent at 6:45 p.m.