ROCHESTER BOARD OF EDUCATION

Organizational Meeting Minutes January 3, 2011

Attendance: Commissioners Campos, Cruz, Elliott, Evans, Powell, White, and Williams; Board Clerk Shanai Lee.

Board Clerk Shanai Lee called the meeting to order at 6:05 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag. Ms. Lee explained the process for electing officers for the office of President and Vice President.

The Chair opened the floor for nominations for the office of President. Commissioner White nominated Commissioner Evans for the office of President. Commissioner Evans accepted.

Motion to close nominations by Commissioner Powell. Seconded by Commissioner Cruz. Adopted 7-0.

Roll Call Vote for Commissioner Evans for the office of President:

Commissioner Campos Yes

Commissioner Cruz Yes

Commissioner Elliott No

Commissioner Evans Yes

Commissioner Powell Yes

Commissioner White Yes

Commissioner Williams No

Commissioner Evans elected to the office of President with a vote of 5-2 with Commissioners Elliott and Williams dissenting.

The Chair opened the floor for nominations for the office of Vice President. Commissioner Campos nominated Commissioner Cruz for the office of Vice President. Commissioner Cruz accepted.

Motion to close nominations by Commissioner Powell. Seconded by Commissioner Cruz. Adopted 7-0.

Roll Call Vote for Commissioner Cruz for the office of Vice President:

Commissioner Campos Yes

Commissioner Cruz Yes

Commissioner Elliott No

Commissioner Evans Yes

Commissioner Powell Yes

Commissioner White Yes

Commissioner Williams No.

Commissioner Cruz elected to the office of Vice President with a vote of 5-2 with Commissioners Elliott and Williams dissenting.

The President and Vice President were sworn into office. President Evans assumed charge of the meeting.

President Evans asked for a motion to adopt **Resolution Nos. 2010-11: 452-462**.

Resolution No. 2010-11: 452: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2010-11: 452 made by Vice President Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner White. **Adopted 7-0.**

Resolution No. 2010-11: 453: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2010-11: 453 made by Vice President Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner White. **Adopted 7-0.**

Resolution No. 2010-11: 454: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2010-11: 454 made by Vice President Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner White. **Adopted 7-0.**

Resolution No. 2010-11: 455: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2010-11: 455 made by Vice President Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner White. **Adopted 6-1 with Commissioner Elliott dissenting.**

Resolution No. 2010-11: 456: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2010-11: 456 made by Vice President Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner White. **Adopted 7-0.**

Resolution No. 2010-11: 457: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2010-11: 457 made by Vice President Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner White. **Adopted 6-1 with Commissioner Elliott dissenting.**

Resolution No. 2010-11: 458: Motion to amend Resolution No. 2010-11: 458 to remove the phrase "as long as there is no increase in the total approved budget" made by Commissioner Powell. Seconded by Commissioner White. Rejected 1-6 with President Evans, Vice President Cruz, and Commissioners Campos, Elliott, White and Williams dissenting. Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2010-11: 458 made by Vice President Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner White. **Adopted 5-2 with Commissioners Elliott and Williams dissenting**

Resolution No. 2010-11: 459: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2010-11: 459 made by Vice President Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner White. **Adopted 7-0.**

Resolution No. 2010-11: 460: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2010-11: 460 made by Vice President Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner White. **Adopted 7-0.**

Resolution No. 2010-11: 461: Motion to table Resolution No. 2010-11: 461 made by Commissioner White. Seconded by Commissioner Elliott. Adopted 4-3 with President Evans, Vice President Cruz and Commissioner Powell dissenting. Motion to direct the Administration to continue using the Democrat and Chronicle until another official newspaper is designated made by Commissioner White. Seconded by Commissioner Elliott. Motion carried by consensus.

Resolution No. 2010-11: 462: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2010-11: 462 made by Vice President Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner White. **Adopted 7-0.**

President Evans convened the standing committees of the Board and asked that the members of the committees nominate and elect committee chairpersons for 2011. The committee assignments and chairpersons were nominated and elected as follows:

Board Governance and Development Committee

Vice President Cruz nominated **Commissioner Campos as Chair** of the Board Governance and Development Committee. Commissioner Campos was elected by consensus. Members of the Committee include Vice President Cruz and Commissioner Williams.

Community and Intergovernmental Relations Committee

Commissioner Campos nominated **Commissioner Elliott as Chair** of the Community and Intergovernmental Relations Committee. Commissioner Elliott was elected by consensus. Members of the Committee include Commissioner Campos and Commissioner Williams.

Finance and Resource Allocation Committee

Commissioner White nominated **Commissioner Powell as Chair** of the Finance and Resource Allocation Committee. Commissioner Powell was elected by consensus. Members of the Committee include Commissioner Campos and Commissioner Williams.

Policy Development and Review Committee

Commissioner Powell nominated **Vice President Cruz as Chair** of the Policy Development and Review Committee. Vice President Cruz was elected by consensus. Members of the Committee include Commissioner Campos and Commissioner Powell.

Excellence in Student Achievement Committee

Commissioner Powell nominated **Commissioner White as Chair** of the Excellence in Student Achievement Committee. Commissioner White was elected by consensus. Members of the Committee include Commissioner Elliott and Commissioner Powell.

Audit Committee

Commissioner Elliott nominated **Commissioner Williams as Chair** of the Audit Committee. Commissioner Williams was elected by consensus. Members of the Committee include Commissioner Elliott and Commissioner White.

President Evans announced that the next meeting of the Board is scheduled for Thursday, January 27, 2010 at 6:30 p.m.

Motion to adjourn by Commissioner Elliott. Seconded by Commissioner White. Adopted 7-0 at 8:08 p.m.