## **ROCHESTER BOARD OF EDUCATION** Organizational Meeting Minutes January 2, 2018

Attendance: Commissioners Adams, Elliott, Hallmark, Powell, Sheppard, and White; Superintendent Barbara Deane-Williams; District Clerk Shanai Lee.

District Clerk Shanai Lee chaired and convened the meeting at 6:05 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was led by Commissioner Elliott. Dr. Lee explained the process for swearing-in recently elected commissioners, considering resolutions specifying employees charged with performing certain functions and the designation of the official newspaper and certain financial arrangements, and electing officers for the office of President and Vice President for the 2018 calendar year.

Commissioner Cynthia Elliott, Commissioner Natalie Sheppard, and Commissioner Van Henri White were sworn into office to serve as Commissioners of the Rochester Board of Education from January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2021.

Dr. Lee opened the floor for nominations for the office of President. Commissioner Adams nominated Commissioner White for the office of President. Commissioner White accepted the nomination.

Motion to close nominations made by Commissioner Powell. Seconded by Commissioner Adams. Motion carries 6-0.

Roll Call Vote for Commissioner White for the office of President:

| Commissioner Adams    | Yes |
|-----------------------|-----|
| Commissioner Elliott  | Yes |
| Commissioner Hallmark | No  |
| Commissioner Powell   | Yes |
| Commissioner Sheppard | Yes |
| Commissioner White    | Yes |

Commissioner White elected to the office of President for the 2018 calendar year with a **vote of 5-1 with Commissioner Hallmark dissenting.** 

President White was sworn into office by Reginald Castel.

President White expressed appreciation for being elected as President of the Board and commended Vice President Elliott for her leadership throughout the 2017 calendar year.

Dr. Lee opened the floor for nominations for the office of Vice President. Commissioner Hallmark nominated Commissioner Powell for the office of Vice President. Commissioner Powell accepted the nomination.

Commissioner Sheppard nominated Commissioner Elliott for the office of Vice President. Commissioner Elliott accepted the nomination.

Motion to close nominations made by President White. Seconded by Commissioner Hallmark. Motion carries 6-0.

Roll Call Vote for Commissioner Powell for the office of Vice President:

| Yes |
|-----|
| No  |
| Yes |
| Yes |
| No  |
| Yes |
|     |

## Commissioner Powell was elected to the office of Vice President for the 2018 calendar year with a vote of 4-2 with Commissioner Elliott and Commissioner Sheppard dissenting.

Roll Call Vote for Commissioner Elliott for the office of Vice President:

| Commissioner Adams    | No  |
|-----------------------|-----|
| Commissioner Elliott  | Yes |
| Commissioner Hallmark | No  |
| Commissioner Powell   | No  |
| Commissioner Sheppard | Yes |
| President White       | No  |

Commissioner Elliott was not elected to the office of Vice President for the 2018 calendar year, a vote of 2-4 was recorded with Commissioner Adams, Commissioner Hallmark, Commissioner Powell, and President White dissenting.

Vice President Powell was sworn into office by General Counsel Karl Kristoff.

President White assumed charge of the meeting.

President White requested a motion to consider Resolution Nos. 2017-18: 495-505.

Motion to adopt **Resolution Nos. 2017-18: 495-505**.made by Commissioner Powell. Seconded by Commissioner Hallmark. **Resolution Nos. 2017-18: 495 – 499 Adopted 6-0**. **Resolution Nos. 2017-18: 500 Adopted 5-1 with Commissioner Elliott dissenting. Resolution Nos. 2017-18: 501 – 505 Adopted 6-0**.

President White announced that the next Business Meeting of the Board is scheduled for Thursday, January 25, 2017 at 6:30 p.m.

Motion to adjourn by Vice President Powell. Seconded by Commissioner Hallmark. Adopted 6-0 at 6:58 p.m.