ROCHESTER BOARD OF EDUCATION

Organizational Meeting Minutes January 2, 2013

Attendance: Commissioners Adams, Campos, Cruz, Evans, Powell, and White; Board Clerk Shanai Lee.

Board Clerk Shanai Lee called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m. and asked Commissioner Evans to lead the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag. Ms. Lee explained the process for electing officers for the office of President and Vice President.

The Chair opened the floor for nominations for the office of President. Commissioner Campos nominated Commissioner Evans for the office of President. Commissioner Evans accepted.

Motion to close nominations made by Commissioner Evans. Seconded by Commissioner Adams. **Adopted 6-0** with Commissioner Elliott absent.

Motion to open discussion made by Commissioner Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner Campos. Adopted 6-0 with Commissioner Elliott absent.

Motion to close discussion and vote made by Commissioner Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner Campos. **Adopted 6-0 with Commissioner Elliott absent.**

Roll Call Vote for Commissioner Evans for the office of President:

Commissioner Adams Yes

Commissioner Campos Yes

Commissioner Cruz Yes

Commissioner Evans Yes

Commissioner Powell Yes

Commissioner White Yes

Commissioner Evans elected to the office of President with a vote of 6-0 with Commissioner Elliott absent.

The Chair opened the floor for nominations for the office of Vice President. Commissioner Adams nominated Commissioner White for the office of Vice President. Commissioner White accepted.

Motion to close nominations made by Commissioner Evans. Seconded by Commissioner Adams. **Adopted 6-0** with Commissioner Elliott absent.

Motion to open discussion made by Commissioner Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner Campos. Adopted 6-0 with Commissioner Elliott absent.

Motion to close discussion and vote made by Commissioner Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner Campos. **Adopted 6-0 with Commissioner Elliott absent.**

Roll Call Vote for Commissioner White for the office of Vice President:

Commissioner Adams Yes

Commissioner Campos Yes

Commissioner Cruz Yes

Commissioner Evans Yes

Commissioner Powell Yes

Commissioner White Yes

Commissioner Cruz elected to the office of Vice President with a vote of 6-0 with Commissioner Elliott absent.

The President and Vice President were sworn into office. President Evans assumed charge of the meeting.

President Evans asked for a motion to adopt **Resolution Nos. 2012-13: 381-392**.

Resolution No. 2012-13: 381-391 Motion to adopt made by Vice President White. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. **Adopted 6-0 with Commissioner Elliott absent.**

Resolution No. 2012-13: 392: Motion to amend Resolution No 2012-13: 392 to remove Commissioner Willa Powell from the Standard Work Day and Reporting Resolution made by Commissioner Powell, seconded by Commissioner White. Motion carries 6-0 with Commissioner Elliott absent.

Motion to adopt made by Vice President White. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. **Adopted 6-0 with Commissioner Elliott absent.**

President Evans announced that the next meeting of the Board is scheduled for Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 6:30 p.m.

Motion to adjourn by Vice President White. Seconded by Commissioner Campos. Adopted 6-0 with Commissioner Elliott absent at 6:35 p.m.

President Evans convened the standing committees of the Board and asked that the members of the committees nominate and elect committee chairpersons for 2013. The committee assignments and chairpersons were nominated and elected as follows:

Board Governance and Development Committee

Commissioner Cruz nominated **Commissioner Campos as Chair** of the Board Governance and Development Committee, nomination seconded by Commissioner Powell. Commissioner Campos was elected by consensus. Members of the Committee include Commissioner Cruz and Commissioner Powell.

Community and Intergovernmental Relations Committee

Commissioner Campos nominated **Commissioner Elliott as Chair** of the Community and Intergovernmental Relations Committee, nomination seconded by Commissioner Adams. Commissioner Elliott was elected by consensus. Members of the Committee include Commissioner Campos and Commissioner Adams

Finance and Resource Allocation Committee

Commissioner Cruz nominated **Commissioner Powell as Chair** of the Finance and Resource Allocation Committee, nomination seconded by Vice President White. Commissioner Powell was elected by consensus. Members of the Committee include Vice President White and Commissioner Cruz.

Policy Development and Review Committee

Commissioner Powell nominated **Commissioner Cruz as Chair** of the Policy Development and Review Committee, nomination seconded by Commissioner Campos. Commissioner Cruz was elected by consensus. Members of the Committee include Commissioner Campos and Commissioner Powell.

Excellence in Student Achievement Committee

Commissioner Adams nominated **Commissioner White as Chair** of the Excellence in Student Achievement Committee, nomination seconded by President Evans. Commissioner White was elected by consensus. Members of the Committee include Commissioner Elliott and Commissioner Adams.

Audit Committee

Commissioner White nominated **Commissioner Adams as Chair** of the Audit Committee, nomination seconded by President Evans. Commissioner Adams was elected by consensus. Members of the Committee include Commissioner Elliott and Commissioner White.