# Rochester Board of Education Organizational Meeting Tuesday, January 2, 2007 6 p.m.

# **MINUTES**

# **Attendance**

Commissioners Thomas Brennan, Cynthia Elliott, Malik Evans, Domingo Garcia, Willa Powell, Shirley Thompson and Van White; Chief Counsel Michael Looby; Board Clerk Linda Dunsmoor.

- I) Meeting called to order at 6:02 p.m. by Ms. Dunsmoor. Commissioner Evans led the Act of Reverence and led a moment of silence in honor of Former U.S. President Gerald Ford.
- II) Nominations for Board Leadership

Mr. Looby outlined the meeting process for the Annual Organizational Meeting and opened the floor for nominations for President of the Board of Education.

Commissioner Powell nominated Commissioner Garcia for the office of President. Second by Commissioner Thompson.

Motion to close nominations by Commissioner Evans. Second by Commissioner Powell. Adopted 7-0.

Mr. Looby called for appointment by acclamation; adopted 6-1 with Commissioner Elliott dissenting.

Mr. Looby called for nominations for the office of Vice President. Commissioner Garcia nominated Commissioner Evans. Second by Commissioner White.

Motion to close nominations by Commissioner Garcia. Second by Commissioner Thompson. Adopted 7-0.

Mr. Looby called for appointment by acclamation; adopted 7-0.

III) Mr. Looby administered the Oath of Office to President Garcia and Vice President Evans.

# IV) Resolutions

Commissioner Powell moved that Resolutions 2006-07: 449-458 be approved. Second by Vice President Evans.

#### Discussion:

Commissioner Elliott moved that Resolution 452 be split into two resolutions, 452A and 452B. Second by Commissioner Brennan. Adopted 5-2 with President Garcia and Commissioner Powell dissenting.

Commissioner Evans moved that 2006-07: 452A be adopted. Second by Commissioner Thompson. Adopted 6-1 with Commissioner Elliott dissenting. Commissioner Evans moved that 2006-07: 452B be adopted. Second by Commissioner Thompson. Adopted 7-0.

Commissioners briefly discussed Resolution 2006-07: 450. President Garcia called on Auditor General Anissa Henry Wheeler to explain the resolution.

Commissioner Powell then amended her original motion to adopt Resolutions 2006-07: 449-458 less 452A and 452 B. Commissioner Evans seconded the amendment. Resolutions 2006-07: 449-458 less 452A and 452B adopted 7-0 except for 449 and 450, which were adopted 6-1 with Commissioner Elliott dissenting.

# V) New Business

President Garcia asked for a motion to suspend the 48-hour rule in order to create 2007 standing committee assignments. Motion by Commissioner Evans, second by Commissioner Brennan, adopted 7-0.

President Garcia asked for a motion to suspend 2300D stipulating that standing committees be convened by the President between the Organizational Meeting and February 1. Motion by Commissioner Evans, second by Commissioner Brennan, adopted 7-0.

President Garcia then proposed the 2007 Standing Committee assignments. Motion to adopt committee assignments by Commissioner Evans, second by Commissioner Thompson, adopted 7-0.

# **Quality Assurance Committee**

President Garcia convened the meeting at 6:32 p.m. Commissioner White nominated Commissioner Thompson as Chair. Second by Commissioner Thompson. Adopted 3-0.

#### **Board Governance Committee**

President Garcia convened the committee at 6:34 p.m.

Commissioner Powell nominated Commissioner Elliott as Chair. Second by Commissioner White. Adopted 3-0.

# **Board Policy Committee**

President Garcia convened the meeting at 6:36 p.m.

Commissioner Powell nominated Commissioner Brennan as Chair. Second by Commissioner Elliott. Adopted 3-0.

# **Community & Intergovernmental Relations Committee**

President Garcia convened the meeting at 6:37 p.m.

Commissioner Brennan nominated Commissioner Evans as Chair. Second by Commissioner Thompson. Adopted 3-0.

# **Finance Committee**

President Garcia convened the meeting at 6:38 p.m.

Commissioner Brennan nominated Commissioner Powell as Chair. Second by Commissioner Evans. Adopted 3-0.

# **Audit Committee**

President Garcia convened the meeting at 6:39 p.m.

Commissioner Evans nominated Commissioner White as Chair. Second by Commissioner Thompson. Adopted 3-0.

# VI) Other Business

None

# VII) Next meetings

President Garcia announced Community Forums on the Superintendent Search on January 3 and 11; the Board's Business Meeting is Thursday, January 18.

# VIII) Adjournment

Motion to adjourn by Commissioner Thompson. Second by Commissioner Evans. Adopted 7-0 at 6:42 p.m.