• Joseph C. Wilson Magnet High School Commencement Academy  
    Joseph C. Wilson Magnet High School Commencement Academy
    Call  Directions  Website
     
    Principal: Julie Van Derwater| Julie.VanDerWater@rcsdk12.org
    Assistant PrincipalRichard Fischpera | Richard.Fischpera@rcsdk12.org
    Assistant Principal: Gary Reynolds Gary.Reynolds@RCSDK12.ORG
    Assistant PrincipalTara Wade Tara.Wade@RCSDK12.ORG
    Parent Contact: Carl Gause | Carl.Gause@rcsdk12.org
    Parent Contact: Pamela Francis | pamela.francis@rcsdk12.org
    Board Liaison: Natalie Sheppard | Natalie.sheppard@rcsdk12.org
    School Chief: Toyia Wilson - Chief of School Leadership PreK-12
     
     
    School Profile  School Improvement Plan  DASA Coordinator
     
    FACTS
    Grade Level: 9-12
    Uniforms: No
    Busing: RTS
    Student Enrollment: 798
    Foreign Languages: Spanish, French (18-19 last year offered)
    Honors Classes: Yes, IB Middle Years Programme and Diploma Programme
    Tutoring/After School: Yes
    Summer Programs: Yes
    Advanced Placement (AP): Yes
    Health/Wellness Center: No
    Extended/Expanded Day: No
    Business/College/Faith Partnerships: University of Rochester, Monroe Community College, Hillside Work Scholarship,  Center for Youth, Teen Empowerment, Pathways to Peace, M.K. Gandhi Institute, International Baccalaureate Organization
    Student-Parent School Compact Agreement required: Yes
     
    SCHOOL FEATURES
    • The only International Baccalaureate (IB) Program in the Rochester City School District, which aims to develop inquiring, knowledgeable, and caring young people. The rigorous curriculum, international standards, and examinations are consistent throughout the over 4,000 participating schools across the globe.
    • The IB Middle Years Program is offered at grades 9 and 10, which prepares students for our IB Diploma Program offered in grades 11 and 12.
    • Upon completing the IB Diploma Program, students who earn the diploma, apply, and are accepted into the University of Rochester are awarded a four-year, fulltuition scholarship.
    • Balances a rigorous academic program with extensive art, music, athletic, and extracurricular offerings.
    • Welcomes hard-working, motivated, and disciplined students who are determined to become successful, contributing members of society