•  
    Andrew J Townsend School No. 39  
     
    Andrew J. Townsend School No. 39
    Call  Directions  Website
     
    Principal: Jacquelyn Cox | Jacquelyn.Cox@rcsdk12.org
    Assistant Principal: Akilah Collins | Akilah.Collins@rcsdk12.org
    Assistant Principal: Brandi Smith | Brandi.Smith@rcsdk12.org
    Parent Contact: Yvetta Nelson |Yvetta.Nelson@rcsdk12.org
    Board Liaison: Judith Davis | judith.davis@rcsdk12.org
    School Chief: Sheela Webster | Sheelarani.Webster@rcsdk12.org

    School Improvement Plan  DASA Coordinator
     
    Program Information
    Start Time: 9:00 a.m.
    Dismissal Time: 3:30 p.m.
    Grade Level: PreK-6
     
     
    FACTS
    Uniforms Required: No
    Foreign Languages: No
    English Language Learners: Yes
    Honors/Enrichment Classes: No
    Early Literacy Program: No
    Chorus: Yes
    Band/Orchestra: Yes
    Instrumental Music Lessons: Yes
    Sports: Yes, Basketball and Soccer
    Step Teams: No
    Extended/Expanded Day: Yes, EnCompass
    Saturday School: No
    On-Site After-School Care: No
    Summer Programs: No
    Business/College/Faith Partnerships: Center for Youth Services, Church of Transfiguration, Rochester Community Foundation, Community Place, Black Women’s Leadership Forum, Pillars of Hope, Xerox-Junior Achievement, North Star Rites of Passage, RIT-Liberty Partnerships
     
    SCHOOL FEATURES
    • EnCompass after-school program provides inquiry-based learning and targeted tutoring in ELA and Math, three nights a week (Monday - Wednesday) for grades 1-5, with transportation and dinner provided.
    • The Positive Behavioral and Intervention Supports (PBIS) model is promoted. School No. 39 teaches, models, reviews, and reward students, reviewing expectations on an ongoing basis.
    • Each grade level participates in a daily learning acceleration block (LAB). Students are grouped based on reading needs.
    • After-school activites include: Co-ed Basketball Team, Flower City Soccer, Rites of Passage (grade 5), Liberty Partnerships (grade 6), Sister Keepers (girls’ group), EnCompass (grades 1-5),
      Soulful Expression Poetry Dance Club, Girls on the Run, Boy Scouts.
    • Victorious Minds Academy- a teaching philosophy based upon the Relationship Model of Educational Intervention designed by Joy DeGruy.