• www.engageNY.org

    Pedagogical Shifts demanded by the Common Core State Standards

    There are twelve shifts that the Common Core requires of us if we are to be truly aligned with it in terms of curricular materials and classroom instruction. There are six shifts in Mathematics.

    Shift 1


    Teachers significantly narrow and deepen the scope of how time and energy is spent in the math classroom. They do so in order to focus deeply on only the concepts that are prioritized in the standards.

    Shift 2


    Principals and teachers carefully connect the learning within and across grades so that students can build new understanding onto foundations built in previous years.

    Shift 3


    Students are expected to have speed and accuracy with simple calculations; teachers structure class time and/or homework time for students to memorize, through repetition, core functions.

    Shift 4



    Students deeply understand and can operate easily within a math concept before moving on. They learn more than the trick to get the answer right. They learn the math.

    Shift 5


    Students are expected to use math and choose the appropriate concept for application even when they are not prompted to do so.

    Shift 6

    Dual Intensity

    Students are practicing and understanding. There is more than a balance between these two things in the classroom – both are occurring with intensity.