## Resolution 2016-17: 151 Architect Selection – Phase 2c Projects

## By Board Member Brown

WHEREAS, the Rochester School Facilities Modernization Program Act (the "Act") established the Rochester Joint Schools Construction Board ("RJSCB" or "Board"), a seven voting member board consisting of equal representation by the City of Rochester ("City") and the Rochester City School District ("District"), as well as a member jointly selected by the City and the District; and

WHEREAS, under the Act, the RJSCB has certain enumerated powers to act as agent for the District, the City, or both; and

WHEREAS, the authorizing legislation for Phase 2 of the Rochester Schools Modernization Program ("RSMP") was signed into law by the Governor of the State of New York on December 17, 2014; and

WHEREAS, the amended Act authorized up to 26 projects in Phase 2 of the RSMP including a District Wide Technology program which involves technology upgrades and infrastructure work at several of the possible projects; and

WHEREAS, the District's Board of Education ("BOE") has approved the comprehensive Master Plan for Phase 2 (BOE Resolution 2015-16: 630); and

WHEREAS, the Superintendent has identified and confirmed the projects for Phase 2 of the RSMP for which the RSJCB has started design and planning work in advance of the New York State Education Department and New York State Comptroller's approval of the comprehensive Master Plan for Phase 2; and

WHEREAS, these identified projects (the "Phase 2c Schools") include: Dag Hammarskjold School 6; Dr. Walter Cooper School 10; George Mather Forbes School 4; and Clara Barton School 2; and

WHEREAS, the RJSCB issued a request for proposals (the "RFP") for architectural services, renovation and addition projects for Phase 2c Schools (Resolution 2016-17: 136); and

WHEREAS, the Program Manager received a total of 13 proposals as of the date and time specified in the RFP, and promptly distributed those proposals to the RJSCB members and representatives from the District's facilities group; and

WHEREAS, the Program Manager subsequently recommended 9 finalists following an extensive review of the RFP proposals, and these 9 firms were then interviewed by a selection committee made up of RJSCB representatives, the Independent Compliance Officer and the Program Manager; and

WHEREAS, at the M/WBE and Services Procurement Committee ("Committee") meeting held on March 2, 2017, after due deliberation by the Committee, the following firms were identified as being highly qualified and fiscally responsive to the RJSCB's RFP for the specific projects set forth below:

Dag Hammarskjold School 6	Moody Nolan
Dr. Walter Cooper School 10	SEI Design Group
George Mather Forbes School 4	CJS Architects
Clara Barton School 2	Clark Patterson Lee

## THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

- 1. The RJSCB hereby approves the named firms to provide architectural services as indicated above for the four schools in Phase 2c of the RSMP; and
- 2. The RJSCB Program Manager is hereby authorized, in the name and on behalf of the RJSCB, to execute and deliver individual agreements with each firm named above in substantially the form previously approved by the RJSCB as an attachment to the RFP, with such changes as the Chair may approved (his signature thereon being conclusive evidence of such approval) on the advice of the Program Manager and the RJSCB's general counsel.

Second by Board Member Jones
Approved 6-0 with Member Schmidt away