•  
    Joseph C. Wilson Foundation Academy  
    Joseph C. Wilson Foundation Academy
    Call  Directions  Website
     
    Principal: Dr. Deasure Matthew | Deasure.Matthew@rcsdk12.org
    Assistant Principal: Lowan Brown | Lowan.Brown@rcsdk12.org
    Assistant Principal: David Dorsey | David.Dorsey@rcsdk12.org
    Parent Contact: Tiffany Bumphis | tiffany.bumphis@rcsdk12.org
    Home School Assistant: Anthony Padilla | Anthony.Padilla@rcsdk12.org
    Board Liaison: Judith Davis | judith.davis@rcsdk12.org
    School Chief: Sheela Webster | Sheelarani.Webster@rcsdk12.org
     
     School Improvement Plan  DASA Coordinator
     
    Restorative Practices           

    This school is currently in Receivership status by the New York State Education Department. For more information about Receivership or to view the school’s improvement measures, please visit https://www.rcsdk12.org/receivership.

    Program Information
    Start Time: 7:30 a.m.
    Dismissal Time: 2:00 p.m.
    Grade Level: K-8
     
    FACTS
    Uniforms Required: Yes
    Foreign Languages: Spanish, Kiswahili 
    English Language Learners: Yes
    Honors/Enrichment Classes: Yes
    Early Literacy Program: Yes
    Chorus: Yes
    Band/Orchestra: Yes
    Instrumental Music Lessons: Yes
    Sports: Yes
    Step Teams: No
    Saturday School: No
    On-Site After-School Care: Yes, through SWAN

    Extended/Expanded Day: No
    Summer Programs: No

    Business/College/Faith Partnerships: Southwest Area Neighborhood Association (SWAN), University of Rochester
     
    SCHOOL FEATURES
    • The only International Baccalaureate (IB) Middle Years Program for grades 7-8 in the Rochester City School District, and an IB Candidate School for the Primary Years Program for grades K-6.

    • Primary grades K-6 students are introduced to the IB instructional framework through the implementation of the ten IB learner profiles and six transdisciplinary themes.
    • The IB Middle Years Program provides a framework of academic challenge that encourages students to become critical and reflective thinkers. The students understand and embrace the connections between traditional subjects and the real world.