• 3rd marking period begins

    D Mon Feb 2 solubility of compounds in solvents of different polarity. Chromatography Ch11: 43, 44, 45, 47, 48
    A Tue Feb 3  Vapor pressure of ideal solution. Raoults law Ch11: 51- 59 (odd)
    B Wed Feb 4 colligative properties of solutions boiling point elevation and freeze point depression Ch11: 66, 67, 71, 74, 75
    C Thu Feb 5 Osmotic pressures of solutions Ch11: 76, 78, 79, 80, 82
    D Fri Feb 6 biomedical connection of colligative properties. Ch11: 89, 90. 91, 98,100

    A Mon Feb 9 meaning of reaction rate Ch12: 12,13,18,19
    B Tue Feb 10 rate law based on initial concentration and initial rate Ch12: 22, 23, 27, 28
    C Wed Feb 11 rate order with respect to individual reactants and over all order Ch12: 29, 30, 31, 32
    D Thu Feb 12 These are integrated rate law problems which we will do in the computer Ch12: 33, 38, 39, 40, 41
    A Fri Feb 13  half life and % completions     Ch12: 45 - 49
     
    Mon Feb 16. "Teach yourself" organic naming and terms.  <-- New link Ch 20 : 1, 3, 4, 13,14,17,
    Tue Feb 17 February Break week||| I will give you a short written summary to help you get started. Ch 20: 19, 21,22,25,32
    Wed Feb 18 February Break week||| Remember you have a a book . Ch 20: 43,44,51, 57, 61
    Thu Feb 19 February Break week Ch 20: 71, 73, 75, 76, 80
    Fri Feb 20 February Break week  

    B Mon Feb 23 reaction mechanisms and relationship to the rate law Ch12 :51 - 56
    C Tue Feb 24  rate constant temperature dependence and catalysts Ch12: 61, 75, 89, 90
    D Wed Feb 25 More involved kinetics which are good synthesis problems Ch12: 88, 95, 97
    A Thu Feb 26 KINEMATICS TEST Ch 12  
    B Fri Feb Introduction to chemical equilibriums Ch 13: 12, 13.14.18
     
    C Mon Mar 2 gas phase and concentration based equilibrium constants Ch 13: 22, 23, 24
    D Tue Mar 3  determining Kc from Kp and v.v. Ch 13: 26, 29, 30
    A Wed Mar 4 equilibrium calculations. these often reduce to quadratics. so make sure you have your calculator set up to solve for quadratic roots. Ch 13: 34, 37, 39
    B Thu Mar 5 determining equilibrium shift direction based on reaction quotients. Ch 13: 40, 42, 44,45
    C Fri Mar 6 independence of concentrations in determining equilbrium constants Ch 13: 48, 52, 58, 54a

    D Mon Mar 9 LeChatiliers principle Ch 13: 63, 66, 67, 69, 70
    A Tue Mar 10 Biological equilbriums. Ch 13: 72, 78, 79, 91, 93
    B Wed Mar 11 Equilibriums TEST ON Ch 13  
    CThu Mar 12 Begin Ch 14: Acid - base Equilibriums Ch 14:16, 19, 20, 22
    D Fri Mar 13 Acid dissociation and conjugates strength Ch 14: 34, 36, 39, 40, 42
     
    A Mon Mar 16 autoionization of water, pH, pOH scales  http://rcsdk12.org/cms/lib/NY01001156/Centricity/domain/5375/3rd mp ap chem/APChem Ch 13 Equilibrium summary.docx Ch 14:44, 45, 48-50
    B Tue Mar 17 concentration of ions vs. pH for strong and weak acids Ch 14:53, 58, 62, 65, 67
    C Wed Mar 18 use of Percentage dissociation in calculation of pH for weak acids Ch 14:73-79
    D Thu Mar 19 weak bases, pH and pOH , Kb for weak bases. Ch 14:82, 86, 88, 94, 95, 97
    A Fri Mar 20 polyprotic acids and multiple Ka values Ch 14:100, 101, 106, 107, 109

    B Mon Mar 23 pH of reactive salts of acids and bases Ch 14:114, 117, 121, 122
    C Tue Mar 24 Lewis acid and bases Ch 14: 133, 137, 139, 141
    D Wed Mar 25 naturally occuring weak acids and weak bases. Solutions for todays class samples Ch 14: 142, 143, 145
    A Thu Mar 26 Acid Base TEST on Chapter 14  
    B Fri Mar 27 pH of buffer solutions and construction of specific pH buffers Ch 15: 17, 21, 23, 27, 28
     
    Mon Mar 30 Spring Break week||| AP exam Prep #5 Nuclear reaction types. Again you will use your book Ch 19: 12. 14, 22
    Tue Mar 31 Spring Break week||| along with a written summary to help you get started on these problems Ch 19 : 25, 27, 29, 32, 34
    Wed Apr 1 Spring Break week Ch 19: 37, 43. 44. 52. 57
    Thu Apr 2 Spring Break week Ch 19: 58, 68, 69
    Fri Apr 3 Spring Break week   

    C Mon Apr 6 effect of acids and bases when added to buffers Ch 15: 33, 37, 41, 44, 45
    D Tue Apr 7 acid base indicators and pKa Ch 15:63, 64,65, 71, 75
    A Wed Apr 8 biochemical buffers and neutralization curves. Ch 15:81, 85, 94, 96
    B Thu Apr 9 Solubility equilibriums and Low Ksp compounds Ch 16: 23,25, 26, 27, 29
    C Fri Apr 10 solubility of insolubles in buffered solutions Ch 16: 37, 39, 40, 41
    D Mon Apr 13 solubility of insolubles in common ion solutions Ch 16: 45, 47, 53, 55, 56
    A Tue Apr 14   complex ion equilbriums Ch 16: 62, 66, 69, 72
    B Wed Apr 15 important biological equilibriums Ch 16: 75, 82, 95
    C Thu Apr 16 TEST on Chapter 15 and 16 equilibria of solutions  
    D Fri Apr 17 enthalpy entropy and free energy (this section is remarkable similar to the work we did extensively in Chapter 6. It will go quickly but have significant connections to equilibriums and redox reactions) Ch 17: 24, 28. 29. 32, 34, 37

    A Mon Apr 20 use of entropy data and physical prediction of entropy change Ch 17: 39, 42, 44, 47, 50
    B Tue Apr 21 finding free energy changes with a reference table Ch 17: 56, 59, 65, 80
    C Wed Apr 22 Balancing redox reactions galvanic cells Ch 18: 29, 20, 31, 35, 36, 37, 38
    D Thu Apr 23 standard electrode potentials and free energy Ch 18: 39, 41, 43, 44
    A Fri Apr 24 redox reactions used as electrochemical cells Ch 18: 45, 46, 56, 57, 65
     
    Mon Apr 27 Superintendents conference day  
    B Tue Apr 28  Nerst equation Ch 18: 68, 69, 70, 71, 72
    CWed Apr 29 ΔG of electrochemical reactions Ch 18: 89, 91, 93, 95
    D Thu Apr 30 electrolytic reactions Ch 18: 96, 97, 99,100
    A Fri May 1 summary of electrochemical and electrolytic cells. Ch18: 136, 137, 138

    B Mon May 4 AP Chem exam 8:00 am . The first exam! OMG.
    C Tue May 5 Calculus AB Calculus BC
    D Wed May 6 AP English Literature and Composition
    A Thu May 7 Computer Science A Spanish Language and Culture  
    B Fri May 8 United States History
     
    C Mon May 11 Biology Music Theory  
    D Tue May 12   United States Government and Politics  
    A Wed May 13 English Language and Composition  
    B Thu May 14 World History  
    C Fri May 15     

    D Mon May 18 refresher and review in case some of you didn't make it pre exam.
    A Tue May 19  Test on Chapters 17 and 18 Equilibriums and electrochemistry.
    B Wed May 20  
    C Thu May 21 Assignment of Research topics.  
    D Fri May 22 Deliverables and due date for individual topics.
     
    A Mon May 25  
    B Tue May 26   
    CWed May 27  
    D Thu May 28  
    A Fri May 29        

    Mon Jun 1  
    Tue Jun 2
    Wed Jun 3  
    Thu Jun 4     
    Fri Jun 5
     
    Mon Jun 8  
    Tue Jun 9   
    Wed Jun 10  
    Thu Jun 11  
    Fri Jun 12    

    Mon Jun 15  
    Tue Jun 16 
    Wed Jun 17  
    Thu Jun 18    
    Fri Jun 19
     
    Mon  
    Tue    
    Wed  
    Thu  
    Fri