• IB programme is a rigorous, globally minded education. It drives students to look at the world differently by asking them to view the world through multiple lenses. The IB mission statement illustrates this by stating:

    “The International Baccalaurete aims to develop inquiring, knowledgeable and caring young people who help to create a better and more peaceful world through intercultural understanding and respect.

    To this end the organization works with schools, governments and international organizations to develop challenging programmes of international education and rigorous assessment.

    These programmes encourage students across the world to become active, compassionate and lifelong learners who understand that other people, with their differences, can also be right.”

    How Is The MYP Curriculum Different?
    One of the major difference within the MYP curriculum is the use of Areas of Interaction (AOI). Every subject is organized around a set of perspectives, know as Areas of Interaction, that provide a framework for learning. These perspectives encourage students to make connections between subjects, to link what they learn to the real world and to global issues, and to reflect and act on their learning.

    Areas of Interaction Wheel
    click on the image above to make it larger
    This is illustrated by means of an octagon with the five areas of interaction at its center. Students study subjects from each of the eight subject groupd through the five areas of interaction.
    Eight Subject Groups:
    • Language A (English)
    • Language B (French, Spanish or Latin)
    • Humanities
    • Technology
    • Mathematics
    • Arts
    • Sciences
    • Physical Education